Passing On Aida’s Halo-Halo

Aida's Halo-Halo

I’ve mentioned before that Ilocanos are drawn to simple local flavors. The proof of the matter is the bustling carinderia section at the basement of the Laoag Supermarket. I used to have my own reusable halo-halo glass for a fill from Aida’s Canteen and Foodhaus until our old store moved to a farther location. Went there today to relive old memories. Cool that Alexa went with me. It was her first venture at the market basement:) More importantly, her curiosity didn’t stop there.

Aida’s halo-halo is very basic and native, a patchwork of fruit cocktail (the canned fiesta version), ube, gulaman (gelatin), corn, coconut strips, boiled camotig (sweet potatoes) and saba (bananas), shaved ice  and milk. Yet, it is what I crave for when it’s hot and humid.

Aida's Halo-Halo 2
Photographed by Blauearth © Blauearth™ All Rights Reserved 2009-2014

Leave a comment